André Dias

Date of birth: 1991

Instrument: percussion
Nationality: Portuguese
Competition: Prémio Jovens Músicos 2013

1st prize, EMCY Prize

Contact: through the This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

André is a young Portuguese percussionist, born in 1991 in Loureiro, Oliveira de Azeméis (Portugal) and is considered one of the most promising young Portuguese musicians of his generation.

He started studying music at the age of 8 in the ‘Escola da Banda de Musica de Loureiro’, in 2001 he entered the “Academia de Música de Espinho” where he finished the Fifth Grade and was awarded with a merit scholarship.

In 2006 he continued his studies at the “Escola Profissional de Musica de Espinho” finishing with a course recital where he obtained 19 marks out of 20. In this school he was awarded with a merit scholarship and a scholarship for the best graduating student.

In 2009 he entered ESMAE – Instituto Politecnico do Porto, under the tuition of professors Miquel Bernat, Manuel Campos and Nuno Aroso. He finished his degree in 2013 with a distinction (full marks) for the final course recital and an average of 17 out of 20 for the whole course.

He has attended various master classes with internationally renowned percussionists such as Pedro Carneiro, Isao Nakamura, Rainer Seegers, Philippe Spiesser, Nebojsa Zivkovic, Kuniko Kato, Markus Leoson, Sisco Aparici, Mark Ford, among others.

During his artistic career he has had the opportunity to play in several orchestras and ensembles as ‘Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto – CdM’, ‘Drumming GP’, ‘Banda Sinfónica Portuguesa’, ‘Remix Ensemble’, ‘Orquestra Gulbenkian’, ‘Orquestra Clássica de Espinho’, ‘European Union Youth Wind Orchestra’, among others with which he has performed in Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Belgium, Austria, Holland, Brazil and China.

As a soloist he has given various performances of which we can highlight the solo concerts with the Orquestra Sinfonica da ESMAE, Orquestra Gulbenkian and the Orquestra Classica de Espinho as well as solo recitals throughout Portugal. In addition he took part in the International Percussion Festival in Galiza- Spain (2012) and was recognized as a youth talent.

He has also been awarded various prizes:

2nd prize in the ‘VI International Percussion Competition’ in Fermo, Italy, solo snare drum (2008),

2nd prize in the “Prémio Jovens Músicos” – 24th Edition, in the Percussion category, advanced level (2010),

1st prize of the ‘Helena Sa e Costa Competition’ (2011).

Furthermore in 2013 he was also the winner of the “Prémio Jovens Músicos” – 27th Edition, in the category of soloist at advanced level and of the EMCY Prize of the ‘European Union of Music Competitions for Youth’.

In 2012, together with percussionists Nuno Simões, Pedro Góis and Renato Peneda, he founded the Pulsat percussion group which has since then been awarded with several prizes;

2nd prize in the “Prémio Jovens Músicos”, Chamber Music, Advanced level (2012) and

2nd prize in the ‘III International Chamber Music Competition’ in Alcobaça (CIMCA) (2013).

Currently he is the lead percussionist in the ‘Banda Sinfonica Portuguesa’, founder of the ‘Pulsat PG’, First extra player in the ‘Orquestra Sinfonica do Porto – CdM’, a teacher at the ‘Academia de Musica Costa Cabral’ (Porto) and works together on a regular basis with the ‘Orquestra Gulbenkian’ and ‘Drumming GP’.




A. Viñao, Khan Variations, for marimba

K. Abe, Variations on Japanese Children’s Song, for marimba

J. Alvarez, Temazcal, for maracas and electronics

E. Carter, March, for timpani

F. Donatoni, Omar, for vibraphone

J. Druckman, Reflections on the Nature of Water, for marimba

C. Hatzis, Fertility Rites, for marimba and tape

P. Hurel, Loops II, for vibraphone

T. Hosokawa, Reminiscences, for marimba

M. Kitazume, Side by Side, for multi-percussion

E. Kopetzki, Different Ways, for timpani

D. Lang, Anvil Chorus, for multi-percussion

N. Martincyow, Tchik, for snare drum

A. Masson, Kim, for snare drum

M. Miki, Time, for Marimba for marimba

G. Mortensen, March and Cadenza, for snare drum

P. Norgard, I Ching, for multi-percussion

J. Psathas, One Study One Summary, for marimba, junk percussion and audio digital

I. Silva, Drive_! for vibraphone, multi-percussion and electronics

I. Xenakis, Rebounds B, for multi-percussion


Chamber music

Percussion Duo

T. Hosokawa, Wind Scapers

R. O’meara, Wooden Music

E. Sejourné, Venin

M. Ravel (arr.Safri Duo), Alborada del Gracioso

S. Reich, Nagoya Marimbas


Percussion Trio

J. Kondo, Volcano Mouth

T. Takemitsu, Rain Tree


Percussion Quartet (Pulsat Percussion Group)

J. Cage, Third Construction

O. C. Condon, Fractalia

C. Deane, Vespertine Formations

A. Holló, Before John 5

L. Ligety, Pattern Transformation

L. Tinoco, Short Cuts

J. Torres, Accanto

N. Westlake, Omphalo Centric lecture

J. C. Pacheco, (… ooo …) . pt

P. Perfeito, Parallagés

J. Prendas, Mappa

B. Sassetti, In memoriam: Bernardo Sassetti

I. Silva, Ecos_74


Percussion sextet

R. Wallin, Stone Wave

I. Xenakis, Pleiades


Solo with orchestra

R. R. Bennett, Concerto for Marimba and Chamber Orchestra

A. Dorman, Spices, Perfums, Toxins! (Double Concerto)

P. Klatzow, Concerto for Marimba and Strings

E. Sejourné, Concerto for Marimba and Strings

S. Yagisawa, marimba concerto


If you are interested in working with André, please get in touch with the EMCY Office.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button